Posted by: billpurdue | March 31, 2013

Time for a makeover

Anyone who has been regularly looking at my blog will have probably been wondering what has happened to stop me making new posts. Well, I’ve had a lot of family matters to deal with, which has meant neglecting my blogging duties. Many apologies for that, but now I have a little more time, so (hopefully) I can resume regular posts. It’s five years now since I started my book blog and now it’s time to give it a makeover. Here’s the story of how I got started.

In February 2008 I retired from my job as librarian with Nottinghamshire County Libraries and looked forward to a leisurely lifestyle. I could now browse in libraries and bookshops at my leisure. But that wasn’t really enough for me and I felt I still had something to contribute to the world of books and reading. So it was suggested to me that I might like to start a blog on books.

I knew practically nothing about blogs at the time, but I’ve learned a lot since then (and I’m sure I still have more to learn!). With a lot of help from the Chad editorial staff (for those who are not local to Nottinghamshire, that’s short for Chronicle Advertiser), I got going with my regular blog on just about anything and everything connected with the world of books. The past five years have seen a lot of changes, not least the rise of the e-reader in the form of the Kindle, the Kobo, the Nook and others, so there’s not been a shortage of topics to write about.

My own life has changed a lot since then too – the old saying about retirement- “you’ll wonder how you ever had time to go to work”- has certainly come true for me. Now, it’s time to re-launch my blog.

As well as having a new appearance, each posting of the blog will appear, hopefully, every 7-10 days and contain a wide variety of topics each time. Each posting will include some of the following:

  • new fiction and non-fiction
  • comments on the award shortlists (Orange, Man-booker etc)
  • books I’ve read which I can recommend
  • selected books from years gone by which are worth looking out for – both fiction and non-fiction
  • Local book related events
  • Books on local history
  • Local authors

There’ll be other topics too, but each posting will be my personal choice of what there is on offer in the world of books. I hope you will find something of interest in my blogs – the new series will start after Easter.

Meanwhile, if there’s anything you’d like to tell me about, such as a book you have enjoyed or a local book event, such as an author signing or talk for example, why not post a comment.

Leave a Reply

Categories

